Members

Principal Investigator

Michael A Teitell, MD PhD


Principal Investigator

mteitell@mednet.ucla.edu

  • B.S. – UC Los Angeles, CA, 1985, Biochemistry
  • M.S. – UC Los Angeles, CA, 1985, Biochemistry
  • Ph.D. – UC Los Angeles, CA, 1991, Biochemistry
  • M.D. – UC Los Angeles, CA, 1993, Medicine, Immunology

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Amy Vandiver, MD, PhD


Clinical Instructor, Department of Medicine, Division of Dermatology

AVandiver@mednet.ucla.edu

  • B.A. – Princeton University, NJ, 2008, Molecular Biology
  • Ph.D. – Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, MD, 2017, Cellular and Molecular Medicine
  • M.D. – Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, MD, 2017, Medicine
  • Post-Doctoral Fellow – Teitell lab, UCLA, 2018, STAR Program

Berney Peng, PhD


Post-Doctoral Fellow

bpeng01@ucla.edu

  • B.S. – Washington University in St. Louis, 2003, Chemical Engineering
  • M.S. – Tufts University, 2014, Biomedical Engineering
  • Ph.D. – Tufts University, 2020, Biomedical Engineering

Thang Nguyen


Post-Doctoral Fellow

thangnguyen2010@ucla.edu

  • B.S. – UC Los Angeles, CA, 2014, Bioengineering
  • Ph.D. – UC Los Angeles, CA, 2022, Bioengineering

Graduate Students

Amy Yu


Grad Student – Molecular Biology Interdepartmental PhD Program

AKYu@mednet.ucla.edu

  • B.S. – UC Los Angeles, CA, 2016, Biochemistry.

Bowen Wang


Grad Student – Bioengineering PhD Program

bowenwang410@g.ucla.edu

  • B.S. – UC Berkeley, CA, 2017, Bioengineering.

Alejandro Torres


Grad Student – Cell and Developmental Biology PhD Program

ajrtorres@g.ucla.edu

  • B.S. – California State University, Northridge, CA, 2018, Cellular and Molecular Biology

Mary Doan


Grad Student – Molecular and Medical Pharmacology PhD Program

marydoan@mednet.ucla.edu

  • B.S. – Drexel University, PA, 2019, Biological Sciences

Administrative/Technical Staff

Alex Napior


Laboratory Manager

ANapior@mednet.ucla.edu

  • B.S. - Loyola Marymount University, CA, 2017, Biology
  • B.A. - Loyola Marymount University, CA, 2017, Spanish

Amy Carver


Administrative Assistant

ACarver@mednet.ucla.edu

  • B.S. – Whitworth University, WA, 2009, Physics
  • B.A. – Whitworth University, WA, 2009, English

Visiting Scholars

Alexis Anica


2022 Amgen Summer Scholars Program

aanica@uci.edu

  • B.S. - UC Irvine, CA, 2023 (expected), Public Health Sciences

Undergraduates and Volunteers

Kristin Pischel


Undergraduate Student Intern

kjpischel@g.ucla.edu

  • B.S. – UC Los Angeles, CA, 2023 (expected) Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology

Thomas Kretschmer


Undergraduate Student Intern

tkretschmer@ucla.edu

  • B.S. – UC Los Angeles, CA, 2023 (expected) Microbiology, Immunology, and Molecular Genetics

Christian Monsivais


Undergraduate Student Intern

chrismonsi24421@g.ucla.edu

  • B.S. - UC Los Angeles, CA, 2023 (expected) Biochemistry

High School Volunteers

Ryan Motakef


High School Volunteer

rmotake71@geffenacademy.ucla.edu

  • Expected Graduation 2023